@ Your Library 2.18.21

happy reading

 

@ Your Library

by Beverly Ewart

2.18.21

 

Because I found Kate Quinn’s novels (The Alice Network and The Huntress) so captivating (though her depictions of violence are extreme and graphic - be warned!), I looked for authors that she had endorsed and came upon two novels I enjoyed very much.  My favorite was The Summer Country by Lauren Willig, which portrayed the darkness and suffering of slavery while highlighting the courage of those who fought from within and without to bring about reform. Plus it was just a good STORY!

 

Here’s the description from Amazon: A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

 

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. 

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds. 

~~~

Last night I finished reading Woman 99 by Greer Macallister.  People fighting against overwhelming odds to bring about social justice is a compelling theme.  I couldn’t put it down, though I am thankful to have finished it because it is that time of year when I discipline myself to put the novels down and read nonfiction for a season.  But here is Amazon’s description of Woman 99 in case you are intrigued:

A vivid historical thriller about a young woman whose quest to free her sister from an infamous insane asylum risks her sanity, her safety, and her life.

When Charlotte Smith's wealthy parents commit her beloved sister Phoebe to the infamous Goldengrove Asylum, Charlotte knows there's more to the story than madness. She commits herself to the insane asylum, surrendering her real identity as a privileged young lady of San Francisco society to become a nameless inmate, Woman 99.

The longer she stays, the more she realizes that many of the women of Goldengrove Asylum aren't insane, merely inconvenient―and her search for the truth threatens to dig up secrets that some very powerful people would do anything to keep.

Inspired by the investigative journalism of Nellie Bly, and other true accounts of 19th century insane asylums.

Rich in detail, deception, and revelation, Woman 99 is historical fiction that honors the fierce women of the past, born into a world that denied them power but underestimated their strength.

 



CHILDREN’S PROGRAMS:

Every Wednesday at 10:30 there’s a new virtual Preschool Storytime posted on the library’s Facebook page. It’s a recorded video, so you can watch it at your convenience,and past videos are archived on the Library’s website at https://www.cantonfreelibrary.org/children/storytime/preschool

Contact Ms. Val at vwhite@ncls.org or 315-386-3712 ext 4 with any questions.


MORLEY BRANCH is open for in-person service!  Come see us (don’t forget your mask).  Our new hours are: Tuesday 1pm-3pm; Wednesday 4pm-6pm; Thursday 10am-12pm.  Limit is 4 patrons at a time, for 15 minutes inside the building.  Masks and sign-in are required. There is a computer available for your use, but it’s a good idea to call first to check on availability. Scheduled appointments are encouraged, but not required.  Call for more details: 315-379-0066.

Rensselaer Falls is open Monday & Wednesday from 3:00 to 6:00 pm for in-person service. Masks and sign-in required, and those who are under age 12 must be with an adult. Family groups should call to make an appointment. There is a computer available for your use, but please call first to check on availability. 

Maximum of two (2) people inside at the same time.

Visits are limited to 15 minutes, and appointments are recommended. Call the library (315-344-4155) for additional information. 

 

A great way to find out what’s happening at our Morley and Rensselaer Falls Branches is to check out their Facebook pages:

 

Morley: https://www.facebook.com/MorleyBranchLibrary

Rensselaer Falls: https://www.facebook.com/RensselaerFallsLibrary

 


For more CFL news, stay tuned on Facebook, Instagram, or our website.  Find new additions to our collection on our website: cantonfreelibrary.org. To renew your current checkouts, login to ncls.org; you may also renew via email at canlib@ncls.org, or by calling (315) 386-3712 (choose option 1, "For curbside service" on the menu).

Happy reading @ your library!